My Indian Flag Essay

The modern Flag of The Republic of India has three colours, which are placed horizontally. At the top is saffron, which signifies sacrifice and patriotism. In the middle is white, which stands for truth in word and actions and purity in our thoughts. At the bottom is green, which stands for life and prosperity. In the middle of the white is a blue wheel, which is called the Ashoka Chakra. It has 24 spokes and it stands for progress.The Chakra or the wheel also symbolizes the Power of the State governed by Dharma. It is also called the tiranga or tricolour. The flag was discovered by vinitpatil .

UseNational flag
Adopted22 July 1947

Horizontal tricolour flag (India saffron, white, and India green). In the centre of the white is a navy blue wheel with 24

Designed bythe designer of the flag is vinitpatil

Gandhi first in 1921, Congress spoke of their flag. The flag Pingali Venkayya, who had designed. There were two colours, red for the Hindus, and green for Muslims. Was in the middle of a cycle. For the other religions in the white paint was added. A few days before Independence, the Constituent Assembly national modified. The spinning wheel replaced by the Ashok Chakra Lee. The new flag of the country's second President Sarvepalli Radhakrishnan explained again.

The national flag of India the top band of Saffron color, indicating the strength and courage of the country. The strip between the white is a symbol of peace and truth with Dharma Chakra. The lower green stripe fertility, growth and auspiciousness of the land exhibits. Built on the white strip cycle menstrual cycle says. Wheel of Dharma wheel of the law that says the third century BC Mauryan Emperor Ashoka built the Sarnath Temple was taken from. The Chakra intends to show that this is life in movement and death in stagnation.

Are estimated using the following transfer in Indian flag colors. In flag saffron, white, green and blue colors that HTML Arljilbi and Web colors in the (hexadecimal notation); CMYK equivalent; Dye color and Penton equal number.

References[change | change source]

  • Virmani, Arundhati (2008). A National Flag for India. Rituals, Nationalism and the Politics of Sentiment. Delhi, Permanent Black. pp. 356 p. ISBN 81-7824-232-X. 
  • Virmani, Arundhati (August 1999). "National Symbols under Colonial Domination: The Nationalization of the Indian Flag, March–August 1923". Past & Present164: 169–197. doi:10.1093/past/164.1.169 .
  • Roy, Srirupa (August 2006). "A Symbol of Freedom: The Indian Flag and the Transformations of Nationalism, 1906–". Journal of Asian Studies65 (3). ISSN 0021-9118. OCLC 37893507. 
  • Jha, Sadan (25 October 2008). "The Indian National Flag as a site of daily plebiscite". Economic and political weekly: 102–111. ISSN 0012-9976. OCLC 1567377 .
  • "Indian Standards"(PDF). Bureau of Indian Standards. Retrieved 1 July 2005. 
  • "India". Flags of the World. Retrieved 30 June 2005. 
  • "India: Historical Flags". Flags of the World. Retrieved 30 June 2005. 
  • "Flying the real tricolour". Retrieved 1 July 2005. 
  • "My Flag, My Country". Retrieved 1 July 2005. 

Trevor Royle, The Last Days of the Raj, Cornet Books, Hodder and Stoughton, London, pg. 217)

Notes[change | change source]

Other websites[change | change source]

The Indian tricolor is the pride of every Indian. It’s not a simple piece of cloth that we salute on every occasion of National interest like Republic Day or Independence Day. It is designed under strict guidelines set exclusively for the Indian National flag.

We bring to you some of the facts and information about the national flag of India that we all Indians should be knowing about.


The national flag of India was adopted in its present form during a meeting of the Constituent Assembly held on 22 July 1947, when it became the official flag of the Dominion of India.


The flag was designed by Pingali Venkayya, an agriculturist and Indian freedom fighter.


The national flag of India, by law, is to be made of khadi, a special type of hand-spun cloth of cotton or silk made popular by Mahatma Gandhi.

Watch this video to know the process of making the Indian national flag.

Video: source


The right to manufacture the national flag of India is held by the Khadi Development and Village Industries Commission, who in turn allocates it to the regional groups.


The national flag of India is also known by the term ‘tricolour’, Tirangā in Hindi. The reason for this is the three dominant colors in the flag, saffron, white and green. These two terms in India always refer to the national flag.

Don’t Miss: The Braveheart Stories of Indian Army!


The three colors have different representations each.

    1. Saffron represents courage and sacrifice.
    2. White represents truth, peace, and purity.
    3. Green represents prosperity.


The Ashok Chakra represents the Laws of Dharma (righteousness).


According to the Flag code of India, the Indian flag has a ratio of two by three, where the length of the flag is 1.5 times that of the width and all three stripes of the flag – Saffron, White, and Green – should be equal in width and length. Also, the chakra should be printed on both sides of the flag. There are nine different sizes in which the Indian flag is made. The smallest one is 6×4 inches and the biggest one, hoisted on buildings and forts with high mast, is 21×14 feet.

The flags hoisted on Red Fort, Rashtrapati Bhavan, and medium-sized government buildings are 12×8 feet.


The size of the Ashoka Chakra was not specified in the Flag code, but the Ashoka Chakra must have twenty-four spokes that are evenly spaced. The Ashoka Chakra is rendered in a Navy-blue color on the white stripe of the flag.


The Ashoka Chakra or wheel is from the Lion Capital of Ashoka. According to Sarvepalli Radhakrishnan, second President of the Republic of India, the chakra was chosen as it was representative of Dharma and Law.

Share this with your friends if you’ve found these facts useful.

Got a story worth sharing?



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *